top of page

Raisins and Relaxation

Okay, admittedly these two words aren't generally associated with each other.


But experts at the Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) program at the U. Mass. Medical Center, including world-renowned expert Jon Kabat-Zinn, see a clear association between raisins and mindfulness relaxation.


Heck, let's just try it ourselves... I'll invite you to go run to the kitchen with me to grab two raisins and a glass of water. (Don't worry, you can eat more later!)


Okay, now let's return to the screen here with our two raisins and glass of water.


First of all. Thank you for having enough faith in me to do something bizarre with no explanation!


Second of all... Let's take a look at the first raisin. No, not just a little glance. I mean a real, hard look.


Let's hold the raisin up to a window. How does the light interact with the raisin? Let's study its crevices, curves, and bumps.


Now, let's feel the raisin. Roll it between your fingers, drop it into your palm. Is it heavy or light? Supple and bouncy, or dried out and hard? (Admittedly, this exercise is starting to sound a bit naughty. But believe me, the intention behind this is totally pure!)


Okay, let's venture a little further this time. We're going to hold the raisin up to our ear and move it between our fingers. What does the raisin sound like when gently squeezed? Maybe you hear it crackle or pop. (If it talks to you... That's not normal.)


Now, let's hold the raisin up to our nose. Inhale its scent. Perhaps it has a sweet, tangy appeal. Perhaps its acidic or foul. What does it smell like to you?


Finally, now, we get to eat the darn thing. But wait! Not so fast, my friend.


Let's just start by holding the raisin gently between our lips, rolling it around. Gettin' niiiice and cozy with that raisin!


Now, maybe we can transfer it to between our teeth, without popping it. Noticing the quality of the raisin between the teeth.


Now, finally, the tongue flicks forward and tastes the raisin. (Hooray! You think. We finally get to eat the darn thing!)


But wait... Not so fast!


Move the raisin to the roof of your mouth, noticing how it feels there. Then, gently rolling it between your cheek and teeth... Then transferring it slowly to the other cheek. All the while, noticing the quality of the raisin. Thinking about how your five senses experience the raisin.


And... Yes... It's finally the moment! Chew the raisin. Slowly, popping it between your teeth so that the juice provides a sunburst of flavor.

Swallowing slowly, savoring the flavor and experience.


Okay, CONGRATS! You just meditated.


But did you think that you were meditating? I bet not!


After practicing the raisin meditation, an exercise often used to teach Mindful Eating, I learned that meditation is not, in fact, the act of sitting cross-legged on the floor while reciting a mantra, clearing the mind, or scanning the body.


Yes, it consists of all of these things... But it not only these things.


Instead, I discovered, meditation is the pure and simple act of being present.


As expert Jon Kabat-Zinn might say... It's the act of dropping into being.


So, by studying the present moment, we are effectively meditating. Bringing greater calm to the nervous system and mind. Reducing blood pressure and increasing activity in the problem-solving regions of the brain. Increasing "happy" neurotransmitters and promoting relaxing brain waves. In short--improving wellness.


How can you reap these benefits regularly? Mindful Eating is an excellent practice that you can start... Well, now.


Don't panic! There are no special skills needed for Mindful Eating. The next time you sit down for a meal (I mean really, truly sit down) simply scroll back up to the raisin meditation above. Repeat the same steps, asking yourself the same questions, with the food in front of you.


Why?


After practicing Mindful Eating for a while, I began to notice significant shifts. I no longer found myself mindlessly groping for the chocolate or coconut bits in the pantry, or opening the fridge and staring into space.


I stopped reprimanding myself when I ate--because I only ate when it really, truly served me.


I respected my body by eating what "felt good" and my body thanked me back. I experienced significantly less bloating and a reduction in other unpleasant symptoms (I naturally have an imbalanced digestive system due to my health condition).


I felt more pleasure while eating. Each bite was simply... Fucking marvelous.


Do you want to experience your food in this manner?


I know that I sure do! Join me on this little Mindful Eating journey with trying--just once a day--to have a mindful meal.


Given it a shot? Tell us below how your journey with Mindful Eating is going, or tell us about your past experience with Mindful Eating!


In the meantime, be on the lookout for our FIRST PODCAST (Mindful Musings: Mindful Living Made Simple") available on iTunes every Thursday as of February 7th.


We're excited to host an amazingly inspirational yoga expert who has special featured multiple times in Yoga Journal, been a guest instructor at Wanderlust, featured in Athleta and Runner's World, taught infamous Roy Williams as well as NBA and NFL players... The list goes on!


You can find the Trailer for our podcast this weekend on iTunes. Be sure to subscribe by clicking HERE (available as of this Saturday, Feb. 2nd) so you don't miss it!

In the meantime, don't forget to subscribe to the blog for more updates on our exciting new adventure!


Happy Mindful Manifesting,

Elicia Kristine xx

bottom of page